I watched Pacific Rim and I…

11 Jul

images Coming into this film I expected GIANT robots (Jaeger/hunter) vs GIANT (Kaijn) monsters. And I left satisfied. I think that when you go into a Pizza shop you expect a good pizza. And that’s what I got. When I went inside I had to look for a seat near the middle. I was pleasantly surprised because this was a good sign since I was told that there were only 49 tickets out of 200 seats taken. (Perhaps Fandango had something to do with this). I am still surprised that the theater showed it at 7 p.m. today. At 190 million dollar budget ( I quickly googled the price) I am stunned as to WHY DID THE LONE RANGER COST 250 MILLION! This doesn’t compute. And it’s refreshing to watch a “fresh” movie that’s not a reboot or continuation of a franchise.

The story. We thought Aliens would come from the sky, but it turns out that they came from a portal/barrier in the Sea. I’m still somewhat confused by their exact origin, but apparently they created massive dinosaurs, but they weren’t sustainable by the atmosphere at the time. Now they are. These Aliens scout, attack, consume, and move on from planet to planet. To combat these monsters, Humanity has made monsters to fight them (metal duel pilot monsters).

Anyways, now I will talk about the visuals. Even though it wasn’t available in 3d, I’m glad. 3d has disappointed me anyways because when the subjects move too quickly, they blur and make the image sloppy. They also just look like 2d cardboard cutouts that are either farther or slightly close away. As someone who’s finding his passion in CGI, this film is very inspiring. As for the story, it is what it is, a summer block buster film. I thought that the Man of Steel had the most devastating collateral damage, but after this film, I don’t know. While most fights happen in the Sea, the fights that affect the city are INSANE. One monster rams the giant mech through a sky scrapper leaving a HUMONGOUS HOLE that you could fit a football field through.

 

The man of the hour would have to be Stacker Pentecost. This man steals the show. He’s like the father figure you never knew you had, but would petition fathers day to be prolonged 365 days a year. The love in this movie reminds me that it is NOT a romance film, but an action film. For those who came into a Monsters vs Robots film, I’ll just say that it’s a slight bonus. I didn’t buy it myself, and found it odd when Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi) was peeping on Raleigh Becket (Charlie Hunnam). And thought okay sure, when she beat him in a stick match. But apparently she knows how to fight with swords in real life. There will be parts when those of you who are in a relationship will say “aw that’s cute.” And for those who aren’t, well, they’ll take their rage out by a jet propelled giant fist punches a Monster in da face!

 

This film is a one time watch for me, but on the big screen. The theater I attended had a Imax. But it’s basically a fake Imax with a slightly larger screen. I would have been very happy to see it in full Imax glory. A one time watch isn’t a bad thing though. I only watched the Avengers once in theaters and that was it. Yet, I will take away the “oh snaps” moments that made me feel like a young lad again. I’m satisfied by the was the Director Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy, Pan’s Labyrinth) has utilized his creativity on such a large scale that’s very pretty to look at. As for sequels, depending on how well this film does in theaters, the rift will be opened and pave way for a surge of more giant monster films. And by the way, Godzilla 2014 has some competition on its hands.

P.S. It’s refreshing to hear GLaDOS’s cynical voice again.

Leave a Reply

